Newbie laws overview?

Hi,

Being a relative newbie here I feel that specifically the form for requesting forum citizenship should have an overview of the laws of Europeia.

Any ideas or people who are willing to do it?

How do you mean? An overview of our laws would be nothing short of long and uninteresting to the majority newcomers right at the start.

A link to all of the laws is also included in the forum header. However, it might be good to have a summary of the ones that are important to newcomers. I'm thinking specifically that the law against proxies and the requirements for citizenship could be explicitly stated. There are probably a few other things that newcomers are at particular risk of doing without knowing they are illegal. I think it would be a tricky task to determine what should be included though - and it might do more harm than good if it discourages people from reading the laws themselves.

Malashaan said:
A link to all of the laws is also included in the forum header. However, it might be good to have a summary of the ones that are important to newcomers.

That's what I meant.

Malashaan said:
I think it would be a tricky task to determine what should be included though - and it might do more harm than good if it discourages people from reading the laws themselves.

Point taken, but I'd have to question whether everyone reads all the laws before pledging. It's like reading the terms of a site before registering - everyone knows they should do it but hardly anyone does.

I think it might be a good idea, along with an idea of the judicial system (i.e. what happens when you break the rules, in plain language). I would however think that it's something that we'd want to consult the Attorney-General on, and certainly seek his legal opinion before publishing.

Edited to add: See Malashaan's new plans here - this might be preempted in some form.