[Beyond the Borders] Q&A with Andusre, Co-Founder of Thaecia

Q&A with Andusre, Co-Founder of Thaecia
Interview conducted by Istillian

Istillian: When you first decided to co-found Thaecia, did you have any preconceptions about what it would grow to be and if so how did they compare to the reality?

Andusre:
I first decided to co-found Thaecia with Xernon actually on the 21st January 2019, one day before the region itself was founded. I am fairly sure a fair number of people know this already, but for wholeness' sake might as well cover it again. Before Thaecia, I was a resident of a region called the New Western Atlantic (NWA), which amongst a myriad of other problems, had its IC [in-character] government - elected supposedly democratically - almost entirely controlled by the founder and the founder's IRL [In Real Life] friends. That really sucked, and it made any kind of meaningful change in the region absolutely impossible. After months of trying to slowly pick apart the founder & co's web of control over the regional government, both Xernon (then known as Nydaymos) and I were pretty done. We were close friends because we were political allies in the NWA, and in the evening of 21st January 2019 I pitched an idea to him. The idea was to found our own region with better, less toxic, more fair politics. A government RP [roleplay] which was truly democratic with a community which was cleaner than the NWA's. The NWA (and all OOC [Out of Character] blacklisted regions as far as I'm aware) do an excellent job at keeping their residents in a prison of their own making. The NWA told us that because we were people from the NWA, the rest of NS [Nation-States] would never ever want anything to do with us, and that any shot at redemption was futile. It's very effective, and it keeps a lot of people essentially stuck in those regions out of fear that they'll never be accepted into a community elsewhere. So falling victim to that narrative, we figured our only options were to